

Nominee:

# **Awards Nomination Form**

Please complete all the requested information on each nominee regarding why they should be selected to receive the award. List only one, nominee per form. Additional forms will be available at the Chamber office, or copies will be accepted. Please circle the appropriate AWARD for the nominee based on the criteria on the reverse side.

OUTSTANDING BUSINESS LEADERSHIP AWARD
OUTSTANDING INDUSTRY LEADERSHIP AWARD
COMMUNITY SERVICE AWARD
INNOVATIVE LEADERSHIP AWARD
COMMUNITY IMPACT AWARD
AGRICULTURE ACHIEVEMENT AWARD
TOURISM ACHIEVEMENT AWARD
WYTHE-BLAND YOUNG PROFESSIONAL AWARD
OUTSTANDING CHAMBER VOLUNTEER AWARD

(riease rinit)		
Address:		
Please give a brief description of the person being nominated and list n (Attach additional information as needed.)	noteworthy contribution	ons over the past five years.
<b>DEADLINE:</b> September 5, 2014	RETURN TO:	Wytheville-Wythe-Bland Chamber of Commerce 150 East Monroe St., Wytheville, VA 24382
	FAX:	276.223.3412
SUBMITTED BY:	_	THANK YOU!



## **AWARDS CRITERIA**

The Wytheville-Wythe-Bland Chamber of Commerce needs your assistance. The Chamber of Commerce presents awards at the Annual Membership Meeting, which will be held Monday, November 17, 2014, at the Wytheville Meeting Center. Please nominate a recipient based on the following criteria and complete all of the requested information on each nominee regarding why they should receive the award. Please see reverse side for Nomination Form. All nominations must be submitted by September 5.

#### OUTSTANDING BUSINESS LEADERSHIP AWARD

Nominees must be an active leader in a for-profit enterprise; large or small business. The award will recognize outstanding contributions to served area (Wythe and Bland Counties) including civic, public services, and community service. Must be a Chamber member.

Past recipients include: Richard E. Phillippi, Jr.; William N. Gilmer, Jr.; Steven D. Irvin; Wayne and Ty Roop; Collin Peel; Steve Lester; Bill and Farron Smith; Bill and Jackie King; Dr. Gordon W. Jennings; Dale and Debbie Clark; Dr. Rebecca Beamer; Tommy Anders; Dr. Noah Malavolti; Dr. Amanda Brewer; Tim Walsh; Gary and Charlotte Naber; Tim Havens

# OUTSTANDING INDUSTRY LEADERSHIP AWARD

Nominees must be an active leader in a for-profit enterprise in the industrial sector. This award will recognize outstanding contributions to served area (Wythe and Bland Counties) including civic, public services, and community service. Must be a Chamber member.

Past recipients include: Dave Elmore; Joe Freeman; Larry Corvin; David Carpenter; Bob Fowlkes; Tom Hough; Peggy Sutphin; Michael and Ronald Musser; Tom Lovelace; Collin Peel; Gatorade; Pascor Atlantic; Duchess Dairy

#### COMMUNITY SERVICE AWARD

Nominees should be a resident of Wythe or Bland County who is active in community organizations and/or who volunteers service to his or her neighbors. The recipient expends time and talent to help make our community a better place in which to live.

Past recipients include: Hontas Austin; Mike Hall; Tasos Gogos; John and Shirley Sutherland; Sarah Dunn; Molly Thompson; Paul Looney; Nancy Tate; Mabeline and Elton Robinson; Dr. Walter Barton; Basil Gordon; Robert Kegley; Betty Munsey; Reece Johnson, Jr.; Wytheville Ladies Ruritan Club; Tommy Hundley; Dee Dee Hoosier; Randy and Myra Moler

## INNOVATIVE LEADERSHIP AWARD

Nominees must be an innovative leader with outstanding contributions to the served area.

Past recipients include: Joseph Hand, Jr.; Frances Emerson; John Dale Melvin; Tom Hough; Cellell Dalton; Bill and Farron Smith; George Keck; Herb Grant

#### COMMUNITY IMPACT AWARD

Selection based on an individual or business that has made a significant, positive impact to the quality of life in the Wytheville-Wythe-Bland Chamber of Commerce service area.

Past recipients include: Linda DiYorio; Dr. Robert Douglas Humphrey, Jr.; Jean Lester; Danny Gordon; Andy Kegley; Randy Newberry; Rodney Cassell; Don Spiller; Mike Hall; Farron Smith; Learn Today Lead Tomorrow; Charlie White; AGAPE Food Pantry

## AGRICULTURE ACHIEVEMENT AWARD

Nominees must be from Bland or Wythe County; involved in agriculture and community.

Past recipients include: Wythe County Farm Bureau Ladies Committee; Wythe County Agriculture Association; Phyl Snapp; Bland Farm Management Group; David Danner; Morehead Farms, LLC; Charles and Betty Dix; Ceres Alumni Association H.C. Groseclose Agriculture and FFA Museum; Wythe "Bucky" Sharitz; J.C. Kidd Farm

#### TOURISM ACHIEVEMENT AWARD

Nominees must be an active tourism leader in the industry and represent Bland or Wythe County. Should be a Chamber member. Past recipients include: Wohlfahrt Haus Dinner Theatre; Big Walker Lookout and Country Store; West Wind Farm Vineyard and Winery;

Trinkle Mansion Bed and Breakfast; Beagle Ridge Herb Farm and Environmental Education Center

#### WYTHE-BLAND YOUNG PROFESSIONAL AWARD

Nominees should be from Bland or Wythe County; involved with the Young Professionals Group and readily volunteers. (Current Steering Committee Members exempt from nominations.)

Past recipient include: Tina Brown

## OUTSTANDING CHAMBER VOLUNTEER AWARD

Selection will be based on the nominee's outstanding contributions in a voluntary role to the Wytheville-Wythe-Bland Chamber of Commerce. Must be a Chamber member. (Current Officers exempt from nominations.)

Past recipients include: Dave Macpherson; Ron Kime; David Johnson; Betty Munsey; Robert Kegley; Jody Gibson; Danny Gordon; Amanda Dean; Leah Huffman-Chase; Ron Boone; Teresa King; Wythe-Bland Young Professionals; Brandi Jones

#### OUTSTANDING CITIZEN OF THE YEAR AWARD

## (Award established in 1979) Sponsored by Stanley King, Sr.

Nominee must be a resident of Bland or Wythe County; dedicated to fellow man; long lasting contributions to community service and/or projects; participation in commercial, community, civic or governmental activities for the betterment of the community over an extended period of time; personal and/or business success.

Past recipients include: J. L. Reynolds; T. Barclay Allison; Paul Parsons; T. A. Turley; James A. Williams, Jr.; D. Woodrow Bird; Paul H. McDowell; Willy B. Crockett; N. Stanley King, Sr.; Raymond Fulton; Garnett Ager; Dr. W. Randolph Chitwood; Rev. Thomas Sproule; Judge R. William Arthur; Arthur M. Gates; Thomas E. Mallory, Sr.; Dr. John P. Baumgardner; Dr. Robert Douglas Humphrey, Jr.; Jeanette Hurt Clippard; Dr. Carl E. Stark; Robert Eley Johnson; John R. Crowgey; G. W. Catron; Martha DeBord; Archibald A. Campbell; D. Reed Counts, Sr.; Olin S. Armentrout; Ruth Anne Chitwood; Thomas A. Bralley, Jr.; Wythe B. Sharitz; Stephen A. Lester, Sr.; George T. Johnstone, Sr.; Edmund Pendleton; Jack King; Jack Hunley; Linda P. DiYorio; Charles Crockett